jump to navigation

My VMware VCAP5-DCA exam experience January 11, 2013

Posted by vbry21 in VCAP5-DCA, VMware Training.
Tags:
trackback

I sat and passed my VMware VCAP5-DCA exam before Christmas.

I thought I’d write about my exam experience. I won’t be hinting at any questions however.

To start with the exam lasts 3 hours and 30 minutes, in my case I got 26 scenarios/tasks that I had to complete.

The exam itself is completely hands on, I was given a task and I had to use whatever method, whether that is the vSphere Client, vMA or PowerGUI to complete that task.

Now the task will contain multiple steps.

To help, you are provided with VMware documentation, I found this useful as I can’t remember command line off the top of my head.

My biggest problem was the time, I managed to finish the exam with 1 minute to go, however I was warned at the five minute interval.

I could go backwards and forwards through the task descriptions, just make sure that on the last task, you are completely sure that you have finished, because once you click finish, the exam is finished.

So how will you prepare? As a VMware VCI, I used the VMware recommended documentation.

I read the Exam Blueprint available from VMware’s certification website; this is probably the most important resource.

I then used the VMware Install, configure and Manage course and also the VMware Optimise and Scale course.

I also ensured I knew which document contained which information, and also that I had mountains of hands on experience.

Not to sound big headed or cocky, but I found that because I had prepared, that this is possibly the easiest VMware exam I’ve sat, I think that’s because I had to know what I was doing and know the product, but to be fair as a VCI I do these tasks weekly in both classroom and also real world.

Good luck to anyone sitting the exam.

 

Comments»

1. AHMED - January 29, 2013

congratulations ! I am in preparing on DCA and i have attended Optimize and scale training. But still worried as human nature to get less score or fail. Is there any question from disaster recovery(SRM) and backup. Pls let me know.

vbry21 - January 30, 2013

According to blueprint no SRM but when looking at blueprint, perhaps VDR (backup), unfortunately due to non disclosure agreement, I really can’t comment on what I was asked in the exam, but what I will say is practice using the vSphere Client, vMA and Powershell, the labs in the Optimize and Scale course are excellent resources for revision.

vbry21 - January 30, 2013

Hi Amhed, Whoops, forgot to say good luck on your exam, be very careful with the time management, 225 minutes goes very quickly.

Regards

Bry

2. Manny - February 3, 2013

Can you please tell us if the exam tested on vSphere 5.1 or 5? I realize there isnt a ton of difference, but I need to build my lab accordingly.

vbry21 - February 3, 2013

Hi

Just checked latest blueprint, still based 5.0 .

Cheers

Bry

3. Manny - February 3, 2013

Thanks for the confirmation! Are you going for the DCD next? Or changing pace to something like the DT or the IaaS exams?

vbry21 - February 4, 2013

Just a temporary change, I’m doing the VCP-Iaas as a requirement of my VMware Certified Instructor status, this will allow me to deliver the various vCloud courses, plus as we keep getting told, the future is “cloudy”


Leave a Reply

