jump to navigation

FaceTime is it a gimmick? May 19, 2012

Posted by vbry21 in General Stuff.
trackback

I was sitting in our London office feeling quite depressed that I still had another three days until I got to see my wife and kids again, then I remembered that my daughter had just gotten a new iPad, so I got onto FaceTime on my iPad and gave her a call.

Normally I would ring every night on my mobile and talk to the girls for about an hour, but that’s not the same as seeing them.

We spent about an hour talking about the events of the day, I spoke to my wife and my two daughters and when the call was finished I felt much better that I had gotten to speak to them face to face, I was still a little depressed that it’s still three days until I see them, but at least now I can see them every day (wireless permitting).

This technology will become even more important to me as over the next 26 weeks, as I’ll be away from home 14 of them. For me FaceTime is not a gimmick it is a technology I can use to stay in touch with my family, and a smile from my daughters and my wife is quite uplifting.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

